Meet the Governors

  • Miss Clare Cantwell


    I have served on the Governing Body for 8 Years; as a Teacher Governor and as Head teacher.
    Belsay is a fantastic school, with excellent relationships between pupils, parents and carers, staff and the whole community; it is a pleasure to be part of such a successful partnership.

  • Mrs Susan Rigg

    Chair of Governors ;Co-opted Postal Address: Belsay School, Belsay, Newcastle Upon Tyne. NE20 0ET

    I am a Co-opted Governor and became Chair of Governors in March 2016.
    My background is in Human Resources and I worked for many years in the Higher Education sector. Since having children, my husband and I run a Procurement Consultancy.
    Running our own company has given me the flexibility to support our lovely school and my focus is to lead the Governing Body so we all work together as a team to ensure the pupils of Belsay receive the very best learning environment.

  • Mrs Adele Dodds

    Parent Governor

    I graduated from Newcastle University in 1995 with a BA(hons) in Geography. Originally from the South East, I loved the North East so much that I chose to stay. Mainly working in the charity sector, I have enjoyed various roles in office management, events, conference and accounts management.
    I have two children at Belsay School (Ewan and Ella) who both enjoyed Belsay pre-School too. I now work from home for the farm family business in Milbourne, mainly at a desk but sometimes herding cattle and lambing sheep!
    I joined the Governing Body in July 2016 as a parent governor and am on the curriculum and development committee. I love our unique, rural, nurturing school and count it as a privilege to serve the school in this way.

  • Mr Nick Tuck

    Parent Governor

    I have a daughter, Isabella, in year 3 in Belsay School. I have a strong interest in education as a teacher and subject leader in a local secondary school. Previously I was a lecturer in science education at a local university. My particular interests are around the use of technology in schools.
    Nick Tuck

  • Mrs Sandra McGovan

    Non- Teaching Staff Governor

    I previously worked for the Automobile Association as a team leader in the Accounts Department for 6 years, I then took a sabbatical to have my children; I then joined British Telecom where I worked for 20 in various departments and roles. I joined the Belsay Team in 2015, and have quickly settled into the routine of every day being different with new challenges to work through. I love being part of a school where there are lots of activities such as World Book Day and a huge variety of school visitors. Working in the office is always busy and there is a constant stream of jobs to be done!

  • Mr Robin Wood

    Vice Chair;Co-opted

    I am a co-opted Governor who became a school Governor in the autumn term of 2016. I am also a parent of children at Belsay school. I work as a Planning Consultant within a practice that I started 16 years ago, and we work throughout the North East of England in the planning sector. Growing up in rural North Lancashire I attended a small rural primary school not dissimilar to Belsay and am therefore very supportive of small rural schools like Belsay and the role they play within the community. As someone working within the building and development industry, I have sought to assist the school through its transition to a primary school and specifically with regard to the building works which have taken place. As a Governor I continue to try and bring some of the experience I have from my daily work life and home life to areas where this is applicable within the school environment.

  • Mrs Elaine Chaplin

    Co-opted Governor

    I became a co-opted Governor in June 2018. I grew up within the locality and find the school ethos grows the children as individuals within the rural location.

    I have worked within Early Years settings for the last seven years working up from Early Years practitioner to my current position as manager of Belsay Daycare. I recently graduated from Northumbria University with an MA in Professional Practice.

If you wish to contact any of the school governors you can do so by e-mailing to one of the above e-mail addresses, alternatively mail to the school address: Belsay Primary School, Belsay, Newcastle Upon Tyne. NE20 0ET